Format: CD>New

Chess Records

Recorded on Stovall Plantation in Clarksdale, MS by Alan Lomax in 1941 and 1942, these 18 tracks represent the first recordings of a sharecropper named McKinley Morganfield a.k.a. Muddy Waters. And, yeah, there's an unreleased track, and four interviews, but really, for something this historic the less said the better. Just listen.

Release Date: 1993-06-08

1. Country Blues (Number One)
2. Interview #1 (Previously Unissued)
3. I Be's Troubled
4. Interview #2 (Previously Unissued)
5. Burr Clover Farm Blues (Previously Unissued)
6. Interview #3 (Previously Unissued)
7. Ramblin' Kid Blues (Partial. Previously Unissued)
8. Ramblin' Kid Blues
9. Rosalie
10. Joe Turner (Vocal: Percy Thomas)
11. Pearlie May Blues (Vocal: Percy Thomas)
12. Take A Walk With Me (Second Guitar: Son Simms)
13. Burr Clover Blues (Second Guitar: Son Simms)
14. Interview #4 (Previously Unrelaeased)
15. I Be Bound To Write To You
16. I Be Bound To Write To You (Second Version, Second Guitar: Charles Berry, Previously Unissued)
17. You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone (Number One)
18. You Got To Take Sick & Die Some Of These Days
19. Why Don't You Live So God Can Use You
20. Country Blues
21. You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
22. 32-20 Blues