Eliza Gilkyson - Secularia [CD]

or make 4 interest-free payments of $5.62 AUD fortnightly with Afterpay More info

Renowned GRAMMY-nominated folksinger Eliza Gilkyson will release her 20th album, SECULARIA , on July 13 via Red House/Compass Records Group.  Gilkyson’s music, in the classic folk music tradition, has always offered a vivid reflection of the times we live in. SECULARIA, the long-awaited followup to Nocturne Diaries, is a collection of spiritually charged songs that do not fit within the parameters of traditional religious beliefs, challenging us to embrace a more inclusive perspective, to respect all life and to be accountable for our actions in these divisive times.
The album features a stunning performance with the internationally acclaimed Tosca String Quartet, (David Byrne, Bob Schneider), vocal cameos by Shawn Colvin and gospel singer Sam Butler, and a duet with her friend, the late Jimmy LaFave, as well as two songs adapted from poetry written by her grandmother, Phoebe Hunter Gilkyson, co-written with Eliza’s father, folksinger Terry Gilkyson. Recorded with what she calls a “spare urban folk approach,” the album features songs of grief, gratitude and wonder. As always, she’s assembled a group of some of Austin’s finest players to back her in the studio: Chris Maresh (Eric Johnson), Warren Hood, Kym Warner (The Green Cards), Andre Moran, Mike Hardwick (Jon Dee Graham, Charlie Sexton), Betty Soo and more


Track Listing:

  1. Solitary Singer 3:16
  2. Lifelines 4:05
  3. Conservation 3:57
  4. In The Name Of The Lord 4:11
  5. Dreamtime 3:57
  6. Seculare 4:33
  7. Reunion 4:47
  8. Sanctuary 3:46
  9. Through The Looking Glass 4:01
  10. Emmanuelle 6:18
  11. Down By The Riverside 5:26
  12. 12: Instrument 4:30 

Type: CD New

Related Items