CACTUS - LONG ISLAND NY 1971 - Vinyl New

or make 4 interest-free payments of $14.19 AUD fortnightly with More info

Format: Vinyl>New

Live On Vinyl

Originally cast as a supergroup, Cactus was the brainchild of Long Island boys Tim Bogert and Carmine Appice, two ferociously talented players who had cut their musical teeth in the pioneering heavy psychedelic group Vanilla Fudge with Atlantic in the late '60s. In January 1971, the band performed before a small invited audience in Ultrasonic Studios in their native Long Island and plunged into their past three albums to deliver a blitzkrieg that declared their affection for boogie with an electrifying demeanor. This performance also signaled the closure of a chapter in the Cactus story, with guitarist Jim McCarty and vocalist Rusty Day leaving shortly after, before the remaining band recorded their 1972 fourth album, 'Ot 'N' Sweaty. Captured here is a unique facet of heavy blues rock with the entire WLIR-FM broadcast of this set, digitally remastered, exposing a robust powerhouse performance from a profoundly underrated band. Includes background liner notes.

Release Date: 2017-09-29

[Disc 1]
1. Evil (5:39)
[Disc 1]
2. Drums (2:35)
3. Evil + Band Introductions (2:28)
4. Brother Bill (6:28)
5. Oleo (11:44)
[Disc 2]
1. No Need To Worry (14:36)
2. Token Chokin' (4:01)
3. Big Mama Boogie - Part I (Incl. Mona) (7:38)
4. Big Mama Boogie - Part II (5:15)